Benjamin Franklin Award

2024 Nominations Now Open


PIAG’s Benjamin Franklin Award is recognized throughout Georgia's print industry as the highest honor conferred to an individual. The award honors an individual for being a long-term major contributor to the graphic arts industry in Georgia.

Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria:

  • Made a positive impact on Georgia's print industry and is widely recognized as such
  • A person of high principles and integrity
  • One who shares his/her time and talent to work toward the advancement of the industry
  • Works for the betterment of society through civic, community or religious commitments
  • Worked a minimum of 10 years in the print and graphic communications industry, with at least five of those years in Georgia
  • Past PIAG Board Chairs are not eligible for nomination until two years after their chairmanship

Nominations are open through June 1, 2024. The recipient will be announced and recognized at the imPRESS Celebration of Print on August 8, 2024. 

Submit Your Nomination Today

Congratulations to 2023 Recipient, Phil Scott

Phil’s involvement in the print industry began at a young age. In 1966, while Phil was in high school, his father Charles and uncle Bill started Scott Lithographing with a small shop in Little Five Points. In between classes, Phil worked at the shop washing presses, cutting paper, boxing products, making plates, and sweeping the floors.

While in college in 1972, Phil’s father passed away suddenly. His uncle Bill and brother Howard decided to continue operating the business, and Phil continued working for Scott Litho throughout his time at school. After graduation, Phil further immersed himself in the business, becoming more familiar with estimating, scheduling, and management. The business continued to grow, and Phil and Howard moved to a new facility in Avondale Estates. In 1984, Scott Litho purchased the building in Tucker that they continue to operate out of today. 

Innovation and serving printers in Georgia have always been a part of Scott Litho’s mission. With a larger footprint, they now had the space to purchase their first 4-color press, and they continued adding services over the years. In 2018, they became the first Georgia printer to install an LED press, a huge investment to better serve their customers. 

Phil served as President of Scott Lithographing for 40 years before retiring. However, with their recent acquisition of Art Laminating & Finishing, Phil has been pulled out of retirement to lead the charge in moving equipment from Atlanta to Tucker by the end of the year. The fishing will have to wait a few more months!

Over the years, Phil has volunteered his time to the industry and this association in multiple capacities. He served on the PIAG Board of Directors and Educational Committee, advocating for high school print programs and college scholarships. 

He also has been a selfless contributor to his community, starting with coaching his kid’s youth sports teams and continuing the tradition by coaching for his grandchildren today. During the last 15 years, Phil has become active with several missions through his church. 

Now in its third-generation, Phil helped grow Scott Litho into the successful business it is today, continuing to serve printers’ needs throughout Georgia. 

Read More About Phil Scott

  • 2023 Phil Scott
  • 2022 Kent Tucker
  • 2021 David Bennett
  • 2020 No winner announced due to COVID-19 pandemic
  • 2019 Pat McBride
  • 2018 Bill Garvey
  • 2017 James “Butch” Mooney Sr.
  • 2016 James P. Dunn
  • 2015 Andy Shulman
  • 2014 Hal Collins
  • 2013 Dennis C. Martino
  • 2012 Guy Dupree
  • 2011 Hoyt Tuggle
  • 2010 Jerry Scher
  • 2009 Jefferson R. Riley
  • 2008 Hugh Sulliva
  • 2007 Ronald T. Williams
  • 2006 John R. Pope
  • 2005 Daneise H. Archer
  • 2004 Tommy Thomasson
  • 2003 Rick Sauers
  • 2002 Norvin C. Hagan
  • 2001 Ed Edwards
  • 1999 Alvin B. Carter, Jr.
  • 1998 Wiley A. Tucker, Jr.
  • 1997 Rachel Ann Shattah
  • 1996 Mark Cox
  • 1995 Tim Combs
  • 1994 Paul Massey
  • 1993 W. Everett Bennett
  • 1992 Randolph Camp
  • 1991 Cary Rosenthal
  • 1990 Henry Daniel
  • 1989 J. Bowen Baxter
  • 1988 Wanzie T. Collins
  • 1987 Arv O. Vogel
  • 1986 W. Clifford “Cliff” Gober
  • 1985 Wiley A. Tucker, Sr.
  • 1984 Hugh M. Inman
  • 1983 Jerry L. Marler
  • 1982 E. Russell Williamson
  • 1981 Mark Pope III
  • 1980 Ed Kilpatrick
  • 1979 George Armstrong
  • 1978 Howard Reed
  • 1977 Kent Higgins
  • 1976 John Moore
  • 1975 DeWitt Cross
  • 1974 Carroll Barfield
  • 1973 Georgia Russell
  • 1972 John Stuart McKenzie
  • 1971 Alex Dittler and John Harland
  • 1970 Cully Cobb
  • 1969 Joe Wyant
  • 1968 Marshall Lan
  • 1967 Joe Self
  • 1966 John Bowen
  • 1965 Gil Bachman
  • 1964 John Butler
  • 1963 Dick Stout
  • 1962 Wright Shippey
  • 1961 Jim Townsend
  • 1960 Tom Morgan
  • 1959 Mendel Segal
  • 1958 Tom Cooper